Freedom to Write

I am not a writer, I am a reader.

But sometime in 2011 when I received and invitation for a job interview in Upwrok, (Freedom to Write) part of the job was to write articles in WordPress, and I was like, what? I have no idea about WordPress or any other Blog sites. Well, I keep a diary where I write daily life experiences, but to write publicly? Online? No experience!

As the interview went on, the client was teaching me how to do it, my hourly rate was low because I was just starting to work online. He patiently taught me step by step in the simplest way he can and I can understand. I was still confused after the interview process, so I honestly told him that he might be wasting his money to pay me because I can’t do the job, he was thankful of my honesty but he advised me to create my own WordPress page and read instructions… He said: Because it is very important to be visible online and share your thoughts and you might become an inspiration to others. 

To cut the story short, I opened WordPress.com site and I signed up, not knowing what to do… Then I started writing just anything, it took me sometime to understand how it works.

But like I said I am a reader, I have read several blogs and articles everywhere in the internet, but I never tried creating my own and I didn’t liked it, or let me say I didn’t find enough time to even try to write more than what I can write, I was like asking myself what would I write, about me? How could I possibly write “myself” and tell the world what’s going on with my life! I have no topic, I don’t want to write about other people, I don’t want to expose the things I know and have observed (some issues in politics, politicians, or relationships 🙂 ).

Few years had passed and a friend shared a link to his WordPress blog and I said I wish I could write too.. He advised me to write, it will help me release some pain, like writing what you feel, writing about life experiences. And I thought that is a good idea… I started writing again last year, 2016. Sharing some parts of my life experiences and I thought some people would learn from it.

I learned so much from my online job, I have worked with different personalities, from executives to ordinary employees and it pays a lot to learn from different people, they can surely teach you so much. And of course the chance of working with different cultures is quite interesting. I am so lucky to have worked with wonderful people online, most of them are Americans and Europeans. I like the discipline and attitude towards work, though they are tough and quite strict in time, they are very understanding too.

I am thanking the client that I never worked with for opening the doors to this site, I can spend lots of hours reading and writing when I have nothing to do and I admit that in some of the posts I read, I get to learn something.

There is freedom to write… I guess this will remain my favorite hobby… But I admit I am not really good at writing, and I still don’t know how to fix my page 🙂

 

 

By cita_orbito

I am an individual with good morals, simple, patient and friendly. I am a good adviser and I am a friend to everyone! I call myself a happy go lucky person but of course I know my limitations and i make sure I have enough time to spend with my family, they are the center of my life! I always have this in mind - "If you have nothing good to say, keep your mouth shut!" Better than talking too much with no sense at all. The best book I have ever read is the Bible - I learn, and still learning so many things from the Bible. I seek for wisdom and understanding so I will know my real existence. Life may be hard but who we are to complain when we don't even try to find solution to make life worth living for?

6 comments

Leave a comment